A wedding outfit, on feeling special

I have been to a lot of weddings the past few years. A LOT. And to be honest, much as I love a wedding, I didn’t feel great as a guest. We weren’t exactly flush for cash and so I never felt very special – I’d be wearing the same H&M dress over and over and usually a pair of either uncomfortable or unfashionable shoes. Because if you don’t know whether your other half will have a job next month, you can’t spring on a new outfit.

WP_20141007_007

Last weekend I went to a very good friend’s wedding, and for the first time, I felt really happy with my outfit. It was comfortable and smart and matched her colour scheme (handy coincidence) and I didn’t feel like the poor relation. Winner winner. So I thought I’d do a little write up on what I wore, and the power of investing in something a little special.

WP_20141007_010

The dress was a TK Maxx find. I bought it about a year and a half ago, when I had a big fancy awards dinner to go to as I won an award for my poetry. It was £35, which at the time was a little more than I wanted to spend, but I could see that for the quality, I was getting a good deal. Plus it was so very me – and how often do you get to win an award and go on stage and that? It’s proved a really worthwhile investment since and I’ve trotted it out for Valentines Day and my anniversary – and now this wedding. I can’t see myself tiring of it soon either.

WP_20141007_009

The shoes are a little more extravagant. Back in Jan/Feb, Hobbs had a massive sale. I’d been wanting a Hobbs item for a long while, particularly after clapping eyes on a friend’s gorgeous (and incredibly expensive) Hobbs handbag at another friend’s wedding, and here was my chance. These heels are so, so me. The pattern, the shape, the height of the heel (i.e. not very high) and they’re pretty blimming comfy as heels go. They were also, for Hobbs, a bargain – £50 down from… £130, I believe? I requested them as my Valentines present and while it’s more than we’d usually spend, I think my wife could tell I’d treasure them. Again, I’ve worn these for Valentines, anniversary, a friend’s engagement party and the wedding.

There’d be a time where the thought of spending £85 total on a dress and shoes would have seemed like insanity to me, as I stared at my empty cupboards and put on another jumper to avoid firing up the boiler, but now I have this modest amount of disposable income, having ‘investment pieces’ like these makes life, weddings, etc, that much nicer an experience. I need to learn to shake off the guilt of paying a bit more for something really nice – if it fits in my ‘fun money’ budget for the month, what does it matter? There’s a difference between mindless consumerism and allowing yourself to feel worthwhile – to feel special. I know it’s something a lot of women struggle with and it’s not very fair, is it? So yes – two tips here: TK Maxx is awesome, and Hobbs sales are things of wonder. Get on their mailing list so you don’t miss the next one.

What pieces do you love, and do you own anything that a past you would think an impossibility?

2 comments

  1. The Sartorial Coquette · October 7, 2014

    I definitely emphasize with the struggle – it can be frustrating. Love the dress though – it’s beautiful!! ❤
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

