The Sunday Summary – a week in thrift

I’m on Instagram now, so I have realised these weekly reflections will really mostly be – my Instagram with words. We’re all cool with that, right? Right. Good.

1. Library goodness.

WP_20141003_002

We rented Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom for £2 at the local library and really enjoyed it. It’s a whistlestop tour of Mandela’s life up to his being elected president of South Africa, and I wanted to know more, but nonetheless a very worthwhile watch. Will need to read the book.

2. More library goodness.

WP_20141003_011

I finished Doctor Sleep in just four days. One, because it was so good, and two, because I was off ill for two of those days, so in between YouTube, napping, and moaning, I managed to get quite a bit of reading done. I also picked up these two when returning the above, so will feed back on these soon.

3. Cheapskate’s chai, and 25p pie…

InstagramCapture_bff15586-d701-4c9c-8ed6-eff880568973_jpgInstagramCapture_65db9e30-397b-4c97-a780-a5e933e2d0cf_jpg

As it says on the little foil tin really. Love some marked down items and will scour the local Co-ops (Mumbles has two because companies love to monopolise a village’s spending, gits) in search of treats like this. Previous bargains have included steak for under £2, and sausages for 30p.

Everyone and their dog is blogging about chai at the moment, it seems. I love the Teapigs chai, but at £4 for 15 bags (while wonderful and much cheaper than going out for chai) it’s not an indulgence I can often make. So here comes a speedy cheapskate’s chai recipe.

– Pick up a supermarket own box of chai tea. These Morrisons teabags were about £2 for 50.
– Boil water, pour on teabag, fill mug halfway. Steep for a good five minutes. Bash it with a spoon a bit.
– Microwave a small cup of milk for a minute.
– Remove teabag, pour in milk.
– Done. It’s not Teapigs, but it’s a really nice cup when you take the time to steep well and heat the milk. If you have a coffee machine, it’s nice to froth the milk too, but then it wouldn’t be properly cheapskate would it?

4. Buy cheap buy twice – sweeeeets

WP_20141005_003

Is it just me that always likes to pick up a bag of sweets before a long car journey? I think it’s because my parents always got wine gums when we’d drive down to visit my gran in Bedfordshire many many moons ago. Anyway, we were off to a wedding four hours away, and when in Lidl before leaving, I looked at the Haribo, and saw that I could get 100g more if I bought the Lidl version. #FAIL. They were horrid (now in bin hence empty pack for recycling) and so when we got into Northampton I picked up proper Haribo. Never again. (Some may say the never again should apply to eating teeth rotting candy, to them I say – pffft.)

What are your thrifty wins and fails this week?

Leave a Reply

